Ramadan Juice Challenge: It’s Almost Over

As we approach the final stretch of the Ramadan Juice Challenge (I promise that’s the last racing pun) I thought I would just share a little about how it has gone. We’re on day 24 now and while I’m not really struggling the excitement of getting back in the kitchen is palpable. I miss cooking so much and I am looking forward to healthy, clean food, but mostly I’m looking forward to warm, chewable food!

Yesterday our juicer died a terrible and very noisy death halfway through making our afternoon juice. We were a little concerned about what we were going to do, was this the end of it? But then my wonderful mum popped over, with, what I thought was going to be her juicer to borrow, but no, she bought us a whole new juicer!

(please excuse my terribly exciting unboxing video, it’s my first time.)

If you’re wondering what happens next, because after juicing for 28 day surely you can’t just go eat normally again you’d be right and I have an answer for you.

For the next few weeks we have to slowly reintroduce food to our bodies, our stomachs will have shrunk and we won’t be able to eat a lot and we have to be carful what we put in. While I would love a juicy burger once all this is over it is still going to be a while before I can chow down on one.

The first week will be soups and our meal plan looks a little like this:

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 3.56.48 PM

So all soup, all vegetables and all gluten and dairy free. Easy on our systems, gentle to digest but still filling and packed with nutrition.

Week two then looks like this:

Screen Shot 2016-06-30 at 3.58.58 PM

Which is a vegetarian diet that will introduce nuts and a little dairy, still light, mainly raw and still packed with nutritious vegetables aimed at helping my psoriasis and continuing the weight loss and energy boosting.

After that we decided the best thing would be to introduce fish before any other meat, then a week of chicken before moving onto beef and pork. Though our meals will still be meat free at least three times a week with as much raw food as possible in order to get the most nutrients.

So there it is. We’re almost done and we are ready for what comes next.

In the next few days I will be doing a Q&A post about my juicing experience so if you have any questions you want answered then leave me a comment on here or drop me a message on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and I’ll add them to my list to answer over the next few days.

Leave a Reply

