Middle Eats Vegan Challenge

For a month every year the Muslim community fast every day from sunrise to sun set, it is 30 days of dedication and reflection. Having grown up in a country where the vast majority of people follow Islam I get to enjoy shorter working hours and amazing Iftars but I have never fasted, the only challenge I have ever undertaken during this month is finding places that are open for lunch! So this year I thought I would change it up a bit and set myself a 30 challenge…

I am going vegan.

Yes vegan. No animal products what so ever, for 30 whole days starting from the first day of Ramadan.

Anyone who knows me knows how much I enjoy my animal products, not just meat but cheese, milk and eggs too, and in undertaking this challenge I know I am probably going to struggle which is why I am going to write a daily update, so my readers can all share in my experience.

I won’t be going at this alone though, L is going to be joining me on this little adventure, so we can support each other through bacon cravings and we will be doing it 24/7 for 30 whole days not just from sunrise to sunset.

While doing these 30 days though, we have agreed we are not going to be using substitute foods, no vegan cheese, facon, quorn and the like, just natural vegan foods, so prepare yourselves for some exciting vegan recipes and some with drawl moaning as I miss my yoghurt and pasta.

Check out our photos on Instagram #middleeatsveganchallenge and if you feel like joining us on this adventure feel free! Just use the hashtag and share your experiences with us on Twitter or Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Middle Eats Vegan Challenge

  1. hungryoungwoman

    This is such a great idea! I fast every year for 30 days and believe me, there’s a lot of dedication and sacrifice required. It is a good feeling though, a feeling of achievement. All the best! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

