Good Food Project Recipe: Jack Daniels Glazed Pork Loin

This is a sponsored post. I was compensated, but all opinions are my own.

When Organic Foods & Cafe agreed to be part of my Good Food Project I was excited at the prospect of having one of Dubai’s original organic suppliers on board!  For years I had dreamed of being able to shop at Organic Foods & Cafe, but I was always under the impression that I’d never be able to afford it because we all know how synonymous the word organic is with expensive but what I discovered was the complete opposite! Organic Foods & Cafe is actually cheaper that many big name supermarkets for a lot of things – for one, their meat is cheaper and a far better quality than many of big brands. Upon entering Organic Foods & Cafe I found myself stumped, what was I going to cook? I knew I wanted it to be a pork dish as they are the only organic supplier I know of with a license to sell pork, so I stood and stared at all the cuts of meat until something came to me – and it did! Roast pork loin in a Jack Daniels glaze, served with honey and cinnamon roasted sweet potatoes and spinach with bacon and onions. While picking out my produce I noticed that Organic Foods & Cafe is very strangely laid out, if it’s your first time shopping there prepare to wander up and down and back and forth a bit before you find what you need. So here is my recipe for a Jack Daniels Glazed Pork Loin:


IMG_2026_2

INGREDIENTS

For the Glaze

  • 1 cup Organic honey

  • 1/2 cup Jack Daniel’s whiskey
  • 1/2 cup Organic soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon steak sauce
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon hot sauce
  • 3 teaspoons Organic apple cider vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons Organic bacon drippings
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • a pinch of Organic cayenne pepper

For the Pork

  • 1 Organic pork loin
  •  1 Large organic onion

METHOD


  1. Preheat your oven to 180 degrees.
  2. To begin with chop the bacon into small pieces, then fry your bacon and collect the drippings in a bowl, continue to cook the bacon until crispy and set aside.
  3. Once you have your bacon drippings take a medium saucepan and into in place all of your glaze ingredients over a medium heat.
  4. Stir the mixture intermittently until it has thickened to a syrup type constancy, this should take around 10 – 15 minutes.
  5. Once you have made the glaze, set aside and begin prepping the pork loin.
  6. Start by chopping a large onion into thick slices, lay these in the baking tray you will be using for cooking your pork.
  7. Score the top of your loin and move it to the tray, lay it on top of the onion slices and begin glazing, pour a good amount of the glaze over the pork until it is entirely covered – do not use all of the glaze! Place the pork into the oven uncovered.
  8. After 10 minutes in the oven remove the pork and add a little more glaze, continue to do this every 10 or so minute for 40 minutes – there should still be some glaze left.
  9. When your pork is completely cooked through remove it from the tray and place it on a clean chopping board and allow to rest while you prepare the sauce.
  10. Pour the remaining glaze into the tray and stir to combine.
  11. I served this with roast sweet potato fries and spinach with bacon and onion.

You could easily taste a difference with the organic ingredients, they tasted so much better and fresher, the bacon was the most obvious difference, when cooked it was not as full of water as regular supermarket brands.

Leave a Reply

